The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies (MPIfG) is part of a worldwide network of research institutions and researchers working in the social sciences. The Institute considers international cooperation to be the most promising organizational form of comparative research. It cooperates closely with several research institutes abroad. Many visiting researchers make valuable contributions to its research program.
 
The Institute has 39.5 full-time positions for researchers and service staff and is currently (2021) receiving funding for 19 positions for doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. Another 13 doctoral researchers belong to the International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE) and are funded by one of the two partner universities, the University of Cologne or the University of Duisburg-Essen. Additional posts at the MPIfG receive third-party funding, in particular those in the research group funded from the DFG Leibniz Prize awarded to Jens Beckert (2021–2028).
 
The MPIfG currently has 2 directors, employs 2 research group leaders, 9 senior researchers, and some 20 early career researchers. As of December 31, 2020, there were 47 researchers working at the Institute or at one of the two partner universities in Cologne or Duisburg-Essen as part of the IMPRS-SPCE. The MPIfG also hosts visiting researchers from Germany and abroad for up to a year; in 2020 it welcomed 13 guests from 6 countries.

Job Openings

Jobs for researchers, students and trainees
 

Job Openings
Program for Visiting Researchers



MPIfG - Researchers at the MPIfG | http://www.mpifg.de/forschung/wissenschaftler_en.asp [Last updated 19.07.2021]

Das MPIfG betrachtet internationale Zusammenarbeit als die aussichtsreichste organisatorische Form vergleichender Forschung. Das Institut unterhält enge Kooperationsbeziehungen mit mehreren Partnern im Ausland. Zahlreiche Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler bereichern das Forschungsprogramm.
 
Das Institut hat 39,5 Planstellen für wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sowie Beschäftigte in den Servicegruppen. Darüber hinaus erhält es Fördermittel für aktuell (2021) 19 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden. Weitere zurzeit 13 Promovierende gehören zur International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE) und werden von einer der beiden Partneruniversitäten Köln bzw. Duisburg-Essen finanziert. Weitere Stellen am MPIfG werden über Drittmittel finanziert, insbesondere eine mit dem Leibniz-Preis der DFG geförderte Forschungsgruppe (2021–2028).
 
Das MPIfG hat gegenwärtig 2 Direktoren, beschäftigt 2 Forschungsgruppenleiter, 9 Senior Researchers und etwa 20 Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler. Zum Stichtag 31.12.2020 arbeiteten 47 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am Institut bzw. an einer der beiden Partneruniversitäten Köln bzw. Duisburg-Essen (im Rahmen der IMPRS-SPCE). Darüber hinaus bietet das MPIfG Forschenden aus dem In- und Ausland Gastaufenthalte von bis zu einem Jahr an. Im Jahr 2020 begrüßte das Institut 13 Gäste aus 6 Ländern.
 

Stellenangebote


für Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden, Stipendien und Gastaufenthalte
 
Ausschreibungen
Gastwissenschaftler-
Programm



MPIfG - Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am MPIfG | http://www.mpifg.de/forschung/wissenschaftler_de.asp [Zuletzt geändert am 19.07.2021]