MPIfG Scientific Advisory Board

Appointed by the president of the Max Planck Society for a 6-year term, the members of the scientific advisory board advise the institute's directors on issues affecting the research program and evaluate the institute's research output for the president of the Max Planck Society.
Prof. Ben Ansell
Nuffield College, University of Oxford
Prof. Frank Dobbin
Department of Sociology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Prof. Eve Chiapello
Centre d'étude des mouvements sociaux, École des hautes études en sciences sociales, Paris
Prof. Dr. Anke Hassel
Hertie School of Governance, Berlin
Prof. Cathie Jo Martin
Department of Political Science, Boston University, Boston, MA
Prof. Monica Prasad
Department of Sociology, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
Prof. Marc Schneiberg
Sociology Department, Reed College, Portland, OR
Prof. J. Gunnar Trumbull
Business, Government and the International Economy Unit, Harvard Business School, Boston, MA

The Scientific Advisory Board meets every three years to evaluate the institute. Every six years, the regular evaluation is augmented by an expanded one. A small committee of experts from inside and outside the Max Planck Society is appointed to conduct the expanded evaluation.
Several Max Planck institutes working in related fields are put together in "research fields," which are then compared with research institutions in Germany and abroad that are working in related fields as well. The institutes' results are compared as are the funds spent to achieve them.

MPIfG - Scientific Advisory Board | [Last updated 11.06.2020]