Trustees of the MPIfG

The purpose of the board is to promote the exchange of ideas and information between the MPIfG and the general public interested in its research. In addition, the board will advise the directors of the MPIfG regarding the institute's relationship with the public. The duties and rights of the Board of Trustees ("Kuratorium" in German) can be found in Article 7 of the institute's bylaws.
Martin Börschel
Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee of the State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia
Carsten Fiedler
Editor-in-Chief of the Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger
Prof. Dr. Axel Freimuth
Rector of the University of Cologne
Dr. Rainer Hank
Freelance Journalist
Reiner Hoffmann
Head of the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB)
Prof. Dr. Michael Hüther
Director of the Cologne Institute for Economic Research (IW)
Arndt Klocke
Member of the State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia
Dr. Rolf Mützenich
Member of the Bundestag
Dr. Witich Roßmann
Chair of the Cologne City Association of the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB)
Dr. Norbert Röttgen
Member of the Bundestag
Helmut Stahl
Dr. Wolfgang Uellenberg-van Dawen
Dr. Beate Wieland
Head of the Research Department of the Ministry of Culture and Science of the German State of North Rhine-Westphalia

If science can help us understand the times we live in, if research can help explain the paradigmatic changes taking place in business, politics and society, if enlightened discourse can help distinguish between ideology, opinion and spin -- then one cannot overstate the impact of the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies in Cologne. ...
The institute is addressing issues at the core of today's public debate.
Dr. Wolfgang Uellenberg-van Dawen

MPIfG - Trustees | [Last updated 12.07.2021]